Here is a small collection of reviews and other press about Americus. This makes our parents especially happy. Last updated 9/20/11.

Awards & Accolades

An ABC New Voices Title 2011

Buzz

“This book tells of how reading shapes the lives of young people everywhere and of how it empowers them to think and believe in themselves.” - ALA/YALSA Galley Program Teen Review

Radio

Inkstuds interview with MK Reed -listen here.

Print

“Nuanced and truly lovely. . . . Americus is about what it means to have your life changed by art, whether it’s a book or a song; about loving something so much you have to fight for it.” – Santa Barbara News-Press

“A lovely valentine to readers and, especially, to librarians. . . . Americus is ultimately a reminder of the small miracles a good book can conjure up, in individual lives and across communities.” – Publisher’s Weekly

“[The] genuine, subtle relationships and life changes going on in the town to keep readers intrigued even after it becomes clear the books are going to stay on the shelves.” – BCCB Review

“This clever mix of fantasy and realistic fiction, thoughtful pacing, authentic dialogue, and expressive art perfectly captures the angst of a nerdy teen. . . . Fans of J. K. Rowling, Cornelia Funke, libraries, intellectual freedom, and Mike Carey’s Unwritten series are sure to get a kick out of this title.” – Booklist Review

Online

The Huffington Post

SLJ Teen Review – “Wonderful.”

Detroit News – “An important story that deserves a place on your bookshelf.”

The Comics Journal – “Consistently true to life and painfully hilarious.”

Read About Comics -  “Compelling.”

Paste Magazine – “A great read for a passionate reader.”

Nancy Carty, Goodreads review – “In my opinion, there is too much profanity for teens.”

Unshelved Guest Strip

PW Panelmania Feature

Feature on io9 – “In Americus, the Harry Potter censorship drama plays out in small-town America.”

A Graphic Novel Reporter ‘Hottest Graphic Novels of the Summer’ Pick